Using Library Resources

Databases

Introduction to Databases

Brief introduction to what library databases are and how to use them to get focused results.

Using Find It

The Find It button is a tool for finding the full text of materials. It appears in the Library's databases when the full text of an item is not available in the database you're searching. This short video describes it's functionality and how it can work with the ILLiad interlibrary loan tool.

Database accounts and folders

This program outlines the basics of using database folders and addresses some things to consider when saving materials online.

Finding Library Resources

Introduction to TOPCAT

This program introduces the library's catalog, TOPCAT. Instructional segments include logging into TOPCAT, and how to effectively search and refine results.

Understanding Call Numbers

Understanding how to read a call number is essential for finding items on the Library's shelves. These short animations will demonstrate how to read and understand the elements of the Library of Congress call number system used at the Stritch Library.

Interlibrary Loan

Introduction to ILLiad

How to use the Library's online interlibrary loan tool, ILLiad to request materials not held by the Stritch Library or by members of the SWITCH consortium.

Using Find It

The Find It button is a tool for finding the full text of materials. It appears in the Library's databases when the full text of an item is not available in the database you're searching. This short video describes it's functionality and how it can work with the ILLiad interlibrary loan tool.

Databases

Brief introduction to what library databases are and how to use them.

Complete Program      
Introduction to Databases 
Spacer11:25
    Watch Video
Program Segments      
1 - What is a database? 
Spacer2:06
    Watch Video
2 - Why use a database? 
Spacer2:05
    Watch Video
3 - How do I get to the databases? 
Spacer1:43
    Watch Video
4 - Searching a database 
Spacer3:32
    Watch Video
5 - Limiting results 
Spacer2:00
    Watch Video

The FIND IT button is a tool found in the Library's databases which helps you obtain access to material that is not available in the database you're using. In this video you'll learn how to use the Find It button to access the full text of materials and see how it works with the ILLiad interlibrary loan tool.

Using the Find It button 
Spacer1:54
  Watch Video

 

Complete Program

   
Database accounts and folders
Spacer10:18
  Watch Video
Program Segments    
1 - What can you do with a 
database account?
Spacer1:01
  Watch Video
2 - Considerations
Spacer2:32
  Watch Video
3 - Getting started
Spacer1:24
  Watch Video
4 - Saving articles
Spacer1:25
  Watch Video
5 - Using folders
Spacer2:14
  Watch Video
6 - Conclusion
Spacer1:39
  Watch Video

Finding Library Resources


What is SWITCH? What is TOPCAT? You'll probably hear these acronyms tossed around quite a bit during your time at Cardinal Stritch University. This video will introduce you to the SWITCH library consortium, it's online library catalog known as TOPCAT, and how they can provide you with resources to help you in your studies.
 

 
Complete Program    
Introduction to TOPCAT 
Spacer18:30
  Watch Video
Program Segments    
1 - SWITCH and TOPCAT 
Spacer:54
  Watch Video
2 - Logging into TOPCAT 
Spacer2:20
  Watch Video
3 - The TOPCAT search box 
Spacer1:52
  Watch Video
4 - Searching TOPCAT 
Spacer2:04
  Watch Video
5 - Viewing results 
Spacer2:40
  Watch Video
6 - Refining results 
Spacer1:59
  Watch Video
7 - Requesting items 
Spacer3:24
  Watch Video
8 - Course reserves 
Spacer3:14
  Watch Video
Elements of a call number
Spacer0:30
  Watch Video
Reading a call number
Spacer1:05
  Watch Video

Interlibrary Loan


This program demonstrates how to use our interlibrary loan tool, ILLiad to request materials not held by the Stritch Library or by members of the SWITCH consortium.

Complete Program    
Introduction to ILLiad   Watch Video
Program Segments    
1 - What is ILLiad?
Spacer1:10
  Watch Video
2 - When to use ILLiad
Spacer2:50
  Watch Video
3 - Creating an ILLiad account
Spacer1:14
  Watch Video
4 - Requesting an item
Spacer1:17
  Watch Video
5 - Retrieving items
Spacer1:04
  Watch Video