Financial Ratios
What they mean
In assessing the significance of various financial data, managers often use ratio analysis, the process of determining and evaluating financial ratios.
A financial ratio indicates a relationship between a company's activities. For example, the ratio between the company's current assets and current liabilities or between its accounts receivable and its annual sales.
The basic source for these ratios is the company's financial statements that contain figures on assets, liabilities, profits, and losses. Ratios are only meaningful when compared with other information. Since they are often compared with industry data, ratios help managers understand their company's performance relative to that of competitors and are often used to trace performance over time.
Ratio analysis can reveal much about a company and its operations. However, there are several points to keep in mind about ratios.
- First, a ratio is just one number divided by another. Financial ratios are only "flags" indicating areas of strength or weakness. One or even several ratios might be misleading, but when combined with other knowledge of a company's management and economic circumstances, ratio analysis can tell much about a corporation.
- Second, there is no single correct value for a ratio. The observation that the value of a particular ratio is too high, too low, or just right depends on the perspective of the analyst and on the company's competitive strategy.
- Third, a financial ratio is meaningful only when it is compared with some standard, such as an industry trend, ratio trend, a ratio trend for the specific company being analyzed, or a stated management objective.
Types of analysis
In trend analysis, ratios are compared over time, typically years. Year-to-year comparisons can highlight trends and point up the need for action. Trend analysis works best with three to five years of ratios.
Another type of ratio analysis, cross-sectional analysis, compares the ratios of two or more companies in similar lines of business. One of the most popular forms of cross-sectional analysis compares a company's ratios to industry averages. These averages are developed by statistical services and trade associations and are updated annually.
Financial ratios can also give mixed signals about a company's financial health and can vary significantly among companies, industries, and over time. Other factors should also be considered such as a company's products, management, competitors and vision for the future.
Types of Ratios
There are many different ratios and models used today to analyze companies. The most common is the price earnings (P/E) ratio. It is published daily with the transactions of the New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ. These quotations show not only the most recent price but also the highest and lowest price paid for the stock during the previous fifty-two weeks, the annual dividend, the dividend yield, the price/earnings ratio, the day's trading volume, high and low prices for the day, and the changes from the previous day's closing price.
The price to earnings (P/E) ratio is calculated by dividing the current market price per share by current earnings per share. It represents a multiplier applied to current earnings to determine the value of a share of the stock in the market. The price-earnings ratio is influenced by the earnings and sales growth of the company, the risk (or volatility in performance), the debt-equity structure of the company, the dividend policy, the quality of management, and a number of other factors. A company's P/E ratio should be compared to those of other companies in the same industry.
Other ratios useful in analyzing a company's balance sheet and income statement:
Liquidity
Liquidity ratios help analyze a company's ability to meet short-term financial obligations.
| Example Ratios | Formula | Measures |
| Current Ratio | total current assets
total current liabilities |
Ability to pay current debts |
| Quick ratio/Acid-test ratio | total current assets minus inventory
total current liabilities |
Ability to convert current assets to cash for the purpose of meeting current liabilities. Called the acid-test -- is a crucial test of the firm's liquidity |
| Working capital | total current assets - current liabilities | Cash flow |
Profitability
Profitability ratios help analyze management's ability to control expenses and earn profits through the use of company's resources.
| Example Ratios | Formula | Measures |
| Net profit margin | net profit
net sales |
Measures percentage of each sales dollar remaining after all expenses |
| Return of equity (ROE) | earnings
shareholders equity |
Rate of return that owners receive on their investment. |
| Return on investment (ROI) | net profits
total assets |
Overall effectiveness to generate profits from total investment in assets. |
| Gross Profit Margin |
sales - costs of goods sold
sales |
Profitability of a company's sales after the cost of sales has been deducted. |
Asset management (efficiency)
Asset Management ratios help analyze how quickly a company's resources can be converted to cash or sales
| Example Ratios | Formula | Measures |
| Inventory turnover | cost of goods sold
inventory |
The speed with which inventory moves through the company and is turned into sales. |
| Fixed asset turnover | sales
fixed assets |
Extent to which company is utilizing existing property, plant, and equipment to generate sales. |
| total asset turnover | sales
total assets |
How effectively company uses its total resources to generate sales. |
| Average collection period | accounts receivable
average daily credit sales |
Serves as a basis for determining how rapidly a company's credit accounts are being collected. |
Debt Management (leverage)
Debt Management ratios help analyze the degree and effect of a company's use of borrowed funds (debt) to finance its operations.
| Example Ratios | Formula | Measures |
| Debt ratio | total debt
total assets |
The extent to which the total assets of the firm have been financed using borrowed funds. |
| Debt to equity ratio | total debt
total stockholder's equity |
The portion of the funds obtained by the companies that came from debt vs. stockholders investments. |
| Times interest earned | earning before interest and taxes
total interest charges |
The ability to the companies to meet is interest obligations should profits decline. |
| Fixed charge coverage | profits before taxes & interest
+ lease payments
total interest charges + lease obligations
|
Company's ability to meet all costs long-term fixed costs should profits decline. |
Industry classification systems
The United States Government is transitioning between two systems of classifying American industry.
The older Standard Industrial Classification Manual used four digit SIC codes
The new North American Industry Classification System uses NAICS codes to provide common industry definitions for Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
NAICS codes are replacing SIC codes. A comparison of the two systems can be found at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naicstab.htm.
Where to find financial ratios
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Leo Troy. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, Inc. Annual.
REF HF 5681 .R25 T7
The source of all data are tax returns filed with the U.S. Internal Revenue Service. The most recent edition covers approximately 4.7 million active corporate federal income tax returns, including those owned or controlled by foreign persons. The publication profiles corporate performance in two analytical tables for each industry. Table I reports operating and financial information for all corporations, those with and without net income. Table II provides the same information as Table I, but only for corporations with net income. It provides 50 performance indicators for each industry. At the end of each industry section, performance indicators for the last ten years are shown. Data are grouped into 16 categories by size of assets in each industry. About 180 lines of business are covered.
Norms in actual dollars for revenue and capital factors such as net receivables, inventories, and total assets are given. It also gives average operating costs in percent of net sales for: cost of operations, pensions and benefits, compensation officers, wages and salaries, taxes and more.
RMA Annual Statement Studies. Philadelphia, PA: RMA Annual.
REF HF 5681 .B2 R58
RMA, the Risk Management Association, is a not-for-profit professional association serving the financial services industry. This national association of bank, loan, and credit officers uses information provided by loan applications to compile the Statement Studies. Financial statements on each industry are shown in common size, and are accompanied by widely used ratios. In general the data for a particular industry appear on both the right and left hand pages. The heading Current Data Sorted By Assets is on the far left. The center section of the double page contains the Comparative Historical Data, with the All Sizes column for the current year shown under the heading 4/1/xx-3/31/xx. Comparable data from past editions of the Annual Statement Studies also appears in this section. To the far right is the display Current Data Sorted by Sales. The information shown at the top of each page includes the identity of the industry group; its Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) or North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) number; a breakdown by size categories of the types of financial statements reported; the number of statements in each category; the dates of the statements used; and the size categories. For instance, (16 4/1/98-9/30/99) means that 16 statements with fiscal dates between April 1, 1998 and September 30, 1999, make up parts of the sample. More than 600 industries, at the four-digit SIC level and at the six-digit NAICS level are covered.
RMA reports three values for each ratio: the upper quartile, median, and lower quartile. For any given ratio, these figures are calculated by first computing the value of the ratio for each financial statement in the sample. These values are then arrayed -- "listed" -- in order from the strongest to the weakest. The array of values are then divided into four asset categories of equal size. The upper quartile is that point at which 1/4 of the array of ratios falls between the strongest ratio and the upper quartile point. The media is the middle value and the lower quartile is that point at which 3/4's of the array falls between the strongest ratio and the lower quartile point. By reporting three values for each ratio, the researcher is able to compare a particular company with the "average" (median) company, as well as with the "typical" companies in the top and bottom halves of the sample.
First time users of the Annual Statement Studies should check the definitions and explanations for ratios provided in the preface. There is also a subject index of industries, an index by SIC/NAICS number, and a bibliography of other sources of financial ratios.
RMA data should be regarded only as general guidelines and not as absolute industry norms. Other considerations that can result in variations among different companies engaged in the same general line of business are different labor markets; geographical location; different accounting methods; quality of products handled; sources and methods of financing; and terms of sale.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Murray Hill, NJ: Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services. Annual.
This publication is produced from business credit reports and financial statements for more than 400,000 companies. It covers 800 industry groups organized in broad categories. Similar to the Annual Statement Studies, three values for the ratios are calculated: upper quartile, median, and lower quartile. The data are not grouped by size of company and no historical information is provided. Reports are given for 14 key ratios for each industry that indicate solvency, efficiency, and profitability.
Annual Reports
Most publicly held companies publish an annual report containing income statement and balance sheet data along with other financial information. Many companies now post their annual reports on their web sites.
10K Reports
Publicly owned companies are required to file a 10K report with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) each year. These reports contain income statement and balance sheet data and other information on the company's past and current performance and expected future prospects. 10K reports can be found at the SEC web site EDGAR.
Trade Journals
There are publications devoted to the needs of a particular industry. Trade journals provide a wide range of current information about the industries they cover. They also publish detailed information on industry trends and industry statistics, some of which are difficult to find elsewhere.
